Pocket-Sized Feminism

If you were to ask me what my views on feminism were, I honestly don’t know what I would tell you. I would more than likely tell you that I believe in women’s rights, but I’m not a hardcore feminist. The sad part of that is my heart would be racing, my thoughts overpowering my ability to react. I shouldn’t be embarrassed to say my beliefs. I’m all for feminism. Let me tell you why.

Women feel compelled to explain their reasoning for being for feminism. It’s almost as if in order to justify being a feminist, women must explain how it also benefits men. How messed up is that? Men don’t have to explain why they think men rights are important. In fact, there is no such thing as men’s rights. There’s human rights, and there’s women’s rights. Wake up everybody, women ARE humans. Until there is only one category I will state my opinion. That is why I’m all for feminism.

Because we were taught “don’t leave your drink alone” instead of “don’t drug someone.”

Because a man in a room full of women is ecstatic. But a woman in a room full of men is terrified.

Because saying “I have a boyfriend” is more a more effective way to get a man to leave you alone. It’s a sad realization when it hits you that he would rather respect another man than your decision of saying “no.” As if your opinion doesn’t matter. If you’re single, you’re free game. Just typing that sends chills through my fingers, down to my soul. It makes me feel so deeply, because I am aware of the reality of what is. That is why I’m all for feminism.

Because a designer fashion label’s slogan is “walk like you have three men walking behind you.”

Because more people are concerned with why women stay in abusive relationships than why men are abusing them.

Because studies show that yelling “fire” is more effective than yelling “rape.”

Because nobody ever asks what the rapist was wearing.

Because as a girl in college, I constantly hear/see men objectify women. Cat whistles, inappropriate name calling, grabbing girls’ asses like it’s the same thing as a high-five. Our bodies are sacred. They are ours. There are so many women that feel uncomfortable in their own skin simply because a man has ruined it for them. That is why I’m all for feminism.

Because I have a board on Pinterest titled “feminism,” and I have it set on secret board mode.

I need to stop acting as if being feminist is a bad thing. Being a woman is amazing. Our hearts, souls, and bodies are capable of so many things. We are a wonderful kind, and we need to be proud of that.

I understand that we are much more fortunate than women in other countries around the world are. But is that really the mindset we want to have? Just because someone has it worse doesn’t mean we can still strive to make it better.

Everyone thinks girls that are all for feminism are annoying, stuck-up, obnoxious. But my question is why the hell would we, as women, not be for women rights?

Feminism isn’t about making women stronger. Women are already strong. It’s about changing the way the world perceives that strength.

“What’s the worst possible thing you can call a woman? Don’t hold back, now. You’re probably thinking of words like whore, slut, skank. Okay, now. What’s the worst thing you can a guy? Girl, bitch, pussy. Notice anything? The worst thing you can call a girl is a girl. The worst thing you can call a guy is a girl. Being a woman is the ultimate insult. Now tell me that’s not royally f’ed up.”

Published by: abby lynn

Hi, all. Thank you for clicking on my page! First things first, my name is Abby Stockwell, and I am a senior at Minnesota State University Mankato. I am majoring in journalism, and hope one day to work for WorldVision (look it up, it's super cool.) I enjoy to jot down my thoughts and share them with others; Enjoy!

Tags, , , , , , Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

