Different Doesn’t Mean Wrong

I used to think I had my whole life planned out. I knew where I wanted to go to college. I knew what I wanted to major in. I used to think my high school friends would be my life-long best friends. I used to think I knew where I could see myself in 10 years. I used to think I had everything figured out.

HA.

I tried so desperately to get into UW-Madison. I was devastated that I just couldn’t get the right ACT score to get accepted. My main plan had failed. I tried out Winona State thinking I’d be content. Also, fail. Maybe UWRF would be right for me for the semester while I tried to get into Madison once again. Nope. Okay, Mankato State it is. I can honestly say I never in a million years thought I would find a college that I could say I was completely and utterly in love with unless it was UW-Madison. My choice in school was different than where I wanted to go originally. It took a few wrong turns for me to get where I am now. Wrong turn after wrong turn resulted in happiness.

Life is about courage and going into the unknown. 

After seeing my grandma lose the battle to cancer, I knew I wanted to be just like the nurses that were there for her in her toughest of times. My family loved my idea of wanting to become a pediatric oncology nurse. I love the feeling of being there for someone. Nursing was the perfect opportunity to fulfill that role. A year and a half into school, I decided I didn’t want to be a nurse anymore. Making the decision to switch majors was difficult, but I knew I couldn’t do something my heart wasn’t in anymore. I realized I didn’t have to be a nurse to make a difference in someone’s life. Wrong turn resulted in me chasing my dream of being a wedding planner.

Don’t become something just because someone else wants you to, or because it’s easy; You won’t be happy. You have to do what you really, really, really, really want to do, even if it scares the shit out of you. 

From preschool to graduation, you make friends that you think you’ll always stay in contact with. The sad truth is you don’t. Once you graduate, leave town, and start the next chapter of your life, you realize who your real friends are. Cliche, yes I know. But totally true. You remain friends with some, lose some, and gain some. Pretty basic concept. After graduation, your friend group definitely shrinks. You realize who you were friends with simply because you saw them everyday, and who you were friends with because they genuinely were great people. There are friends you think you’ll be best friends with forever, but you just go your seperate ways. Since I started college, I’ve met some of the most incredible people, ever. I thought losing friends was a huge setback, but I have the most amazing people in my life. I’ve learned there is nothing wrong with cutting toxic people out of your life. Wrong turn resulted in knowing who my real friends are.

Once you learn how to be happy, you won’t tolerate being around people who make you feel anything less. 

If you would have asked me a year ago where I’ll be in 10 years, I would have been able to confidently state my answer. Now, I have no idea. I don’t know where I’ll be. I don’t know what I’ll be doing. I’m surprisingly not worried that I have no clue. Quite frankly, I think that’s the beauty of life. You may not always end up where you thought you were going, but you will always end up where you are meant to be. We must be willing to let go of the life we’ve planned to have the life that it is waiting for us. I don’t know what God has planned for my life, but I trust in Him. Sometimes our lives have to be completely shaken up, changed, & rearranged to relocate us to the place we’re meant to be. Wrong turn resulted in me learning to depend on God instead of myself.

“I don’t know what my future holds, but I do know who holds my future.” -Tim Tebow

It’s so easy for us to think we have it covered. We get so caught up in our lives that we forget that nothing is guaranteed. We may think we have everything figured out, but do we really? We don’t know what roadblocks can appear, nor do we know what blessings may be bestowed upon us.

My TimeHop for a year ago today was a tweet of mine that said: “Ever wonder how different your life would be if you had gone the other way when you reached that fork in the road?” I feel like this is a common question people find themselves asking. I am learning to trust the journey even when I do not understand it. I highly suggest giving it a try.

At the time, whenever something didn’t go as planned, I thought I was on the completely wrong track. Looking at it now, I can’t help but wonder were my wrong turns really wrong? I’m at a school that I am obsessed with, am pursuing a dream I didn’t even know I had, have the most genuine friends, and have learned to trust more in God. I’m not where I thought I would be, but I know I’m where God needs me to be. I’ve learned one thing: there are no wrong turns, only unexpected paths. 

In their hearts humans plan their course, but the LORD establishes their steps ~ Proverbs 16:9

Published by: abby lynn

Hi, all. Thank you for clicking on my page! First things first, my name is Abby Stockwell, and I am a senior at Minnesota State University Mankato. I am majoring in journalism, and hope one day to work for WorldVision (look it up, it's super cool.) I enjoy to jot down my thoughts and share them with others; Enjoy!

Tags, , , , , Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

