Resolutions

As another year comes to a close, I couldn’t help but reflect on all I’ve accomplished, all I thought I would accomplish but failed to, and all the things I wish I would have done. I’ve loved, I’ve lost, and I’ve learned a lot about myself. This year has been full of ups and downs (bet you’ve never heard that one before), adventures, regrets, lessons learned, and eye-openers.

This year I have transferred colleges twice, traveled to watch wrestling, drove cross-country to visit my brother in South Carolina for spring break, learned to golf (not very well), dyed my hair for the first time, went on a cruise, received a culture shock, realized how much is out there besides Wisconsin, got my wisdom teeth removed, met the most amazing people in Mankato, participated in illegal activities, PASSED ANATOMY, did a complete 360 in my life, and changed my major (something I thought I’d never do), just to name a “few.”

Though my year has been eventful, it has made me realize there is SO MUCH to do. I’ve never had a new year’s resolution, but I’ve decided this year that I will. BUT, I’ve decided to make a whole montage of resolutions instead of just one. Go big or go home, right? While I have made a list of goals I hope to accomplish this upcoming year – too many, probably – here are my most important resolutions, pared down to their essence:

Read more books. Try, try, try. Dream big. Go to more bookstores. Indulge my wandering spirit. Practice gratitude. Be more thankful. Plan more coffee dates. Do a better job at staying in touch with high school friends. Put away my phone more often. Choose happy. See more live music and theater. Use my planner on a daily basis. Regain my sense of wonder. Relax. Laugh more. Cry less. Tell more people about Jesus. Say yes and figure it out afterwards. Make peace with my past, even if it’s hard. Especially if it’s hard. Risk more. Fear less. Take time to appreciate God’s creations. Cherish my friends and family. Take better care of my body, and of my spirit. Go to class. Get good grades. But make sure I still have a life. Chase adventure. Go somewhere I’ve never gone. Do something – perhaps many things – I’ve never done. Actually do the things on my list. Breathe deeply. Breathe a lot. Forgive.

Here’s to a great 2016. Here’s to embracing it in every way that we can.

 

Published by: abby lynn

Hi, all. Thank you for clicking on my page! First things first, my name is Abby Stockwell, and I am a senior at Minnesota State University Mankato. I am majoring in journalism, and hope one day to work for WorldVision (look it up, it's super cool.) I enjoy to jot down my thoughts and share them with others; Enjoy!

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

